This was one of the first recipes I made out of Veganomicon, and ever since, has been one of my go-to’s when I have no idea what to make since it’s extremely easy, cheap, versatile, and tasty.

I didn’t have all the spices it called for, so I just made do with thyme and black pepper, which was enough. I also substituted linguine noodles for the soba, though I’ve used spaghetti noodles in the past, which I think work a bit better. I also added some spinach at the end to add some color to my soup.

I highly recommend using a vegetable broth base that you like, because that and the miso become the dominant flavors in the soup. Also, to make mixing in the miso easier, I recommend spooning some hot soup into a bowl, and then mixing the miso into that, sort of like when you’re trying to incorporate cornstarch into something, and then mixing the slurry into the soup.

