When I was looking for a recipe, it sort of bothered me that even Google would include results for macarons when I searched for macaroons. For those unaware, macarons are the colorful sandwich-like confections that bloggers everywhere seem to love, while macaroons are the dome shaped coconut bites. Remember that macarOOns have cOcOnut!

I had some leftover coconut flakes and it was too hot to use the oven, so I decided to make some raw chocolate macaroons. I’ve eaten the ones from Laughing Giraffe Organics brand before (you can find them on sale sometimes at TJ Maxx/Homegoods!), and they were so rich and delicious, but certainly not something I could afford to buy often.

I used the recipe found here but made a couple changes due to what I had in my pantry. I halved the recipe and used a bag of coconut flakes (they’re smaller than usual shredded coconut, maybe about 1/3 of the size?). I couldn’t find any cocoa powder, so I used Trader Joe’s Sipping Chocolate, which is pretty much cocoa powder with some sugar. I also forgot halfway that I was halving the recipe so I used 3 tablespoons of cocoa powder instead of 2. I also didn’t use a food processor since I didn’t want to deal with cleaning it, and so I just mixed everything. I scooped out the macaroons with a tablespoon and put half of them in the freezer to enjoy immediately, and the other half in the refrigerator for later.

I think they ended up being too sweet, but that’s completely my fault for not accounting for the sugar in the Sipping Chocolate mix. They also ended up being more like candies that melted in your mouth rather than chewy macaroons, but I think that’s because I didn’t spin it all in the food processor and used coconut flakes, which might be drier. When the weather gets cooler, I want to try making regular macaroons, but until then, these will do just fine.