This past semester, I treated myself to another cookbook, Isa Does It, after hearing so many good reviews about it. The book is so pretty: large, hardcover, and with so many high quality photographs that I think it could double as a coffee table book. The recipes come together faster than I expect, and it’s quickly becoming one of my favorite cookbooks.

I recently made the Lemon Blueberry Loaf from Isa Does It as a treat after getting my wisdom teeth out. When I took the pan out of the oven, I couldn’t believe the contrast between the golden brown crust against the pale yellow interior. I don’t think I’ve ever had a vegan baked good come out with this nice of a pound cake-like finish. I’m a bit biased when it comes to lemon flavored desserts as they’re my favorite (likewise, cinnamon and lime always get a pass) and I’ve always like the lemon-blueberry flavor profile (see my first post), but these came out better than I expected. They were moist, stayed pretty good overnight, and were so pretty to look at!

On the other hand, I was a bit disappointed with how little the loaf rose. In the cookbook pictures, it looks as if the loaf rose above the edge of the pan, but mine only rose to about 2 inches. The loaf ended up being a bit dense, but I didn’t mind too much. It might’ve been because I used half a banana instead of applesauce, but that shouldn’t make too much of a difference.

