During the beginning of the school year, I was swamped with work but really adamant about making my own dinners instead of buying it from the falafel place down the street. However, there was no way I would be able to make something new every night, nor every two nights, and so I started looking for recipes that would a) make a ton of food, b) be easy to reheat as leftovers, and c) be tasty enough to beat out going to a cheap restaurant.

I had been eying this recipe for Thai Basil Eggplant for a while, and so I decided to make it one night. While my dish doesn’t photograph as prettily as the author’s, it came out just as good as I had hoped.

The pan-fried tofu was my favorite part, and I was surprised at how easy it was to make once you have the right frying pan. I actually forgot to put in the basil as I was too excited to take a bite, but the dish was great even without it. My only complaint was that the sauce was a bit too salty for my tastes, and so I think I’ll reduce the amount of soy sauce next time. However, it worked out for me as I just paired each serving with a lot of rice, making the dish last pretty long! This definitely satisfied my craving for take-out Asian food – I think I’ll add some straw mushrooms next time in order to mimic my favorite Chinese take-out dish!

