I woke up rather early one day and thought to myself, “Hey, I haven’t had pancakes in a really long time.” So I went to Google, found a highly rated vegan pancake recipe, and brought my laptop downstairs to start cooking. But then when I went to the pantry and opened up my flour bin, I had barely a cup of flour left! How was I supposed to make pancakes now?

Whipping out my copy of Veganomicon for some other breakfast food ideas, I stumbled upon the recipe for Blueberry Corn Pancakes, and lo and behold, it hardly required any flour. But without any blueberries, fresh or frozen, my pancakes ended up more like lemon cornmeal pancakes.

I really enjoyed the light lemon flavor from the lemon zest. My only concern was that my pancakes came out like thick crepes rather than pancakes- they were very thin. I think my batter was too thin and I should have worked out some of those lumps, but I was afraid of mixing the batter too much.

Additionally, I learned that pancakes still require a good spraying of oil on the pan, as my first three pancakes came out crumpled and destroyed from me trying to flip them over.

