One of my favorite parts of summertime was my mom’s cold noodles. It was a nice break from all the salads and due to the simple ingredients, it never required an extra trip to the grocery store and she would whip it up whenever I asked.

This summer, I’ve been on my own with my own kitchen and in charge of my groceries. I thought I would be cooking elaborate meals every day, but the novelty of cooking for myself quickly wore off after a few days of coming home from work too exhausted to cook. Along with that, my first couple of attempts at cooking weren’t very successful, probably because I had forgotten my tablespoons and teaspoons at home. And with that, my adventurous spirit was quashed.

This past weekend, though, I remembered my mom’s cold noodles, and well, how could I finish this summer without having eaten them at least once?

This recipe is super easy to make, especially since it doesn’t have exact measurements. I preferred my noodles to be lightly coated, so for two servings of pasta, my two parts were two spoonfuls, but adjust as needed. The recipe is very forgiving!

Peanut Cold Noodle Sauce

Ingredients:

2 parts tahini (or sesame oil)

2 parts peanut butter (chunky or smooth, doesn’t matter!)

2 parts soy sauce

2 parts vinegar (white or apple cider, use either)

1 part brown sugar

pinch of minced garlic to taste (I used half a clove)

Directions:

Mix all ingredients together until smooth. If sauce is too runny, add more tahini or peanut butter until it’s a good gravy-like consistency.

Pour over noodles, and serve with julienned cucumbers and carrots. For a super fancy meal, garnish with cilantro, mint, and crushed peanuts.

