Ah, and the blueberries are back.

After a long heat wave, the Northeast was blessed with a string of rather cool evenings. Taking quick advantage of that, I whipped out my muffin pan and started on my favorite blueberry muffin recipe. However, I was almost half done (dry ingredients mixed, oil sitting in the flour/baking soda/sugar valley) when I opened up the soy yogurt container and saw, well, things that would certainly make one lose her appetite. Heartbroken and not sure of what to do with these ingredients already laid out, I decided I would try to wing it, despite my past history of failed experiments.

I had already tried two substitutions in the recipe: orange juice instead of soymilk and half/half of whole wheat flour and all-purpose flour. Would it be so bad to try another?

I ended up using flaxseed meal, and a whole lot of it too. I forgot the correct proportions, so I just guessed (checked later, and I guessed wrong) and just hoped that the muffins would come out alright.

Thankfully, they did, and although they aren’t the fluffiest nor the best muffins ever, I think they’re decent for a semi-healthy muffin. The flax taste isn’t very noticeable (actually, hardly at all) and the blueberries shine. They’re quite soft, though, and very filling.


Vegan Blueberry Flax Muffins

adapted from this blueberry muffin recipe from the PPK

Makes 12 (I got 14, but I didn’t put enough batter to get muffin tops)

Ingredients:
– 1 cup whole wheat flour
– 1 cup all-purpose flour
– 1 cup sugar (I used raw sugar, though, so maybe you would need a bit less)
– 1 tablespoon baking powder
– 1/2 teaspoon salt
– 1/2 cup oil
– 1/2 cup orange juice
– 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract
– 7 tablespoons of flaxseed meal (or ground-up flaxseeds)
– 9 tablespoons of water
– 1 1/2 cups of blueberries/other berries

Preheat oven to 375 F. Grease muffin pan.

Combine flaxseed meal and water in a small bowl. Set aside.

Mix all the dry ingredients together. Then, pour in the oil, orange juice, vanilla extract, and flaxseed mixture. Stir to combine.

Lightly flour the berries and then fold them into the batter.

Scoop batter into the muffin pan (two large spoons work really well) and bake for 25-30 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Let the muffins cool for a while in the pan, and then transfer to a cooling rack or somewhere else where they can cool off.

