Or, at least, I hope they’re healthy.

One of my favorite fruits (vegetables?) is the avocado. I love the dichotomy in the buttery texture and refreshing taste. I personally think the best way to have it is sliced on a piece of warm toasted French bread. But mixing avocados with pasta? Two of my favorite things at once!

I used this recipe by Chef Chloe and made a half batch. I used regular spaghetti noodles instead of linguine, cashews instead of pine nuts, and accidentally forgot to add the lemon juice. I also didn’t exactly measure the olive oil, and so I think I ended up adding too little.

The verdict? Amazing! The avocado gives the perfect creaminess to the dish: a light, refreshing flavor rather than the sinking feeling other creamy dishes give me. I probably should have left it in the food processor a bit longer as my cashews didn’t get as crumbled as I would’ve liked. Lastly, the cherry tomatoes were the perfect addition, both for color and as a counterpart to the creamy sauce.

And can we call peanut butter a healthy fat? I’d at least like to think it is.

These peanut butter oatmeal chocolate chip cookies came from this recipe. I baked them in my toaster oven since I didn’t want to heat up the entire house and replaced the whole wheat pastry flour with regular whole wheat flour.

Overall, I thought they were rather dry and chunkier then I hoped for. I’m not sure whether the dryness was caused by the toaster oven or my substitution, but the dough did seem a bit drier than my usual cookie recipes. Next time, I think I’ll briefly pulse the oatmeal in my food processor first, and perhaps add a bit more oil.

Chocolate and peanut butter, though: winning combination.